Thank you and welcome, new readers! #grateful @amwriting

Fantastically, it seems there are still folks out there taking a gamble on my first book.  I say “fantastically” because that means that by this point, anyone still hitting the button to download it is a complete and total stranger.  The family and friends crowd was exhausted a long time ago.

This also means that I’m doubly grateful to those of you jumping on the bus.  It’s no secret that this is a series I’m working on; a series that is incomplete, by the way.  I get that there are plenty of people out there who may be interested in beginning a series of books but hold back from doing so until said series has been completed.  Seems George R. R. Martin has burned one too many fans in the world…

So not only are you guys taking a chance on a relatively unknown author in a veritable ocean of new talent, you’re also banking on the fact that I’ll have this series of books done in a timely manner.  I’m absolutely humbled that you’re diving in with me.

I’m well aware of the phenomenon of authors freezing up towards the end of their series, freaking out that they won’t be able to bring things to a satisfactory conclusion.  What I can promise you, my readers, is that I knew what the end of the Commune Series looked like from Day One when I wrote the opening line.  There’s a plan here, and I don’t mean some nebulous Lost plan wherein the smoke monster turns out to be the manifestations of some super mutant human and all the characters are actually just dead time travelers (good God).  Nope, I’m talking about a real ending that gets properly setup and paid off.  I can’t promise that you’ll love what happens to every single character but I can guarantee that the ending will be earned.

Book Two is just around the corner.  There are only a few chapters left to write (perhaps five or less) and then on to editing!

Take care.

Leave a Reply

